How much is that mango??

I snuck this photo in the grocery store. There was just no way to resist snapping a shot of the ugliest mango I have ever seen in my life, especially considering that this horrible, in my opinion, rotten looking mango costs nearly $20. The saddest thing about this whole thing is that some dumb person will actually buy that mango simply because it costs $20.

Welcome to the sad and frustrating world of produce in Japan. One of the nice things about Japan is that you can only buy fruit in season. When I lived in the states I had no concept that apples were only available in the fall and strawberries in the spring. At the grocery store you can buy whatever you want, whenever you want. Now I live for the fall when all of my favorite fruits are in season. I really like the idea of stocking fruit only when its in season, but sometimes in real life, it can be so frustrating. For example, I love persimmons, but they are most exclusively a fall fruit. I waited all year for persimmon season, but persimmons had a rough year and the harvest this year yielded poor fruit. What a letdown. Now I have to wait a whole year.

The downside to produce only being available in season doesn’t apply so exclusively to vegetables, but you pay a lot of money for veggies when they’re out of season. I have long since stopped batting an eye at paying a dollar per cucumber or three dollars for two small bell peppers. It is just a way of life here. But for whatever reason, I have drawn the proverbial line in the sand concerning avocados. I absolutely will not buy an avocado for more than a dollar. I don’t know why it is, but that is the straw that breaks this camels back.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

