Voiceless: Round 1

Well, I have done it again. I’ve lost my voice. This might be a new personal record. Its only three months into the new school year, and here I am sounding like a pubescent boy who has been forced to whisper. Now, if that is not a horribly, pathetic combination, I don’t know what is.

For those that know me well, you would also know that losing my voice is not something unusual for me. It happens at least once or twice a year that I full on can’t speak. But more often than not, I get a raspy voice for a few days. Right now I’m hovering on the brink of raspyness and full-on laryngitis. Usually, it’s stress-related, or maybe I just used too much of my energetic voice while teaching kids. Either way, it is one of the most annoying illnesses that any person can get. And not because I’m not able to talk. It’s because I am unable to express the sounds that most people take for granted. Whenever, I try to sigh, groan, or even laugh, it doesn’t come out right. Even though I can talk a little bit, the vocal range to produce sighs and groans is completely gone. And to me, that is more frustrating than anything else. I never realize just how much I communicate through verbal non-verbals until I can’t anymore.

So, today my life sucks. Here’s hoping that tomorrow I will have some semblance of a normal voice since I have a  training to lead tomorrow. I can only imagine trying to talk for two hours without actually having the ability of speech. No one wants to see that, especially not new teachers.

3 thoughts on “Voiceless: Round 1

  1. Agatha82 says:

    Poor you, hope it passes soon. It happens to me whenever I get sick and cough too much and it’s just awful 😦

Leave a Reply

