Krispy Kreme Comes to Japan

Krispy Kreme

A few months ago, after lots of lots of rumor and speculation, the first Krispy Kreme Doughnut store opened in Nagoya. It’s located on the first floor of Nagoya Station. And quite unexpectedly, it is all the rage in Nagoya. When it first opened, the line to buy doughnuts was six hours long…no joke. Since then, it has mellowed out a bit. When I took this picture on a Sunday afternoon, customers were looking at standing in an hour long line. Maybe it was two hours, I can’t quite remember now. But, in any event, would you ever wait that long in line for Krsipy Kreme doughnuts?

Surprisingly enough, some of my coworkers have said that they would stand in line to eat the deliciousness that is a Krispy Kreme doughnut. Maybe it’s the fact that I grew up in a Krispy Kremeless area, but I just don’t see the appeal. I mean, a doughnut is a doughnut and I just can’t see the benefit to standing in line for an hour for a doughnut that I could buy at a gas station back home. Thoughts?

3 thoughts on “Krispy Kreme Comes to Japan

Leave a Reply

