A Man from Down Under

Last night Jenny, Joyce, and I decided to go to Outback Steakhouse for dinner. Since coming to Japan I had only been to Outback once before last night. It’s not my favorite restaurant, and certainly not a place I would ever choose to go, but last night we were in Sakae and I had a mad hankering for a salad. Surprisingly enough, as health-conscious as Japan is, salads as meals are just not common, and in fact, are quite rare to find. So, we went to Outback and discovered that our waiter was not only a foreigner, but an Australian, ironically enough.

We were further surprised and delighted to find that he was nervous as all get out. We decided that he must have been new because we secretly saw him with a script of things to say in Japanese to the customers. We had a great time at dinner with our interactions with our server, especially when he did slightly strange things because of his nerves. For example, we had ordered an appetizer and had all decided to order the Steakhouse salad because it sounded extremely delicious. After bringing out our salads, he asked if we needed anything else and were ready to order our main. I waved him away. After he had left, we all had to laugh at the fact that he thought that the salads were just a warm-up for the main course. Or the time when I asked him for more water and he instead brought me a cup of hot water. I felt sorry for him, so I pretended that I had totally wanted a mug of hot water after my meal and actually drank the whole thing.  He did make up for it later by bringing us all new glasses of ice water.

But though his hands shook and he looked pretty sweaty throughout our meal, I think he actually made our dining experience really awesome and now we have a great memory of our time at Outback Steakhouse.

Leave a Reply

