Fall Weather

It’s nearing the end of October and Halloween is right around the corner. But I am having a really hard time actually believing that Halloween is next week. I always associate Halloween with cool weather. The heart of fall is in October. The leaves start changing, the days cool down, sweaters get broken out of storage. It’s all pretty great actually.

But here in Nagoya, that is not the case. It’s been in the low seventies all week. I get overheated if I wear jeans during the day sometimes. Every day is bright and sunny and the leaves have shown no sign of changing. Everything here is still green and summery. The only time that fall shows its face is at night. The nights have really started to cool down. This dynamic really makes it difficult to go out for the whole day. I carry around various layers of clothing that I have to put on the longer I plan to be out.

This weather is not the norm for Nagoya. I remember Halloween being much cooler than it currently is. Maybe in the next week it will start to cool down for real, but I don’t hold out high hopes for that. Ever since the hurricane blew threw a few weeks ago, the weather has been unusually warm.

