Audiobooks

Since moving to Japan, I have both discovered and fallen in love with audiobooks. I always have an audiobook on my iPod, and listen to it on the train, while shopping, walking to and from work, and the list goes on. And surprisingly enough, I have found that I actually prefer to listen to books than to read them. When I read a book for the first time, I always want to know what happens next, so I end up skimming parts of the book that I don’t really feel are worth my time, or are essential to the story. By doing that, I end up missing out on parts of the story that are actually important or that will become important later, so I have to go back and reread. But when I listen to an audiobook, there is no skimming. I actually have to listen to everything intently, so I get a better appreciation for the book. But I am still anxiously awaiting the next big event, and most importantly, the big ending.

Just last month, I subscribed to audible.com. For those of you not in the know, its a website that has thousands of audiobooks that you can buy and download. They have a good selection for the kinds of books that I’m currently interested in reading. Every month you get a book credit that’s good for any book you want, so I tend to buy the really expensive books on my wish list, since I only pay 7.99 a month to be a member. Seems like a pretty good deal to me. I’m currently in the process of choosing my next audiobook, so if you have any good suggestions, let me know.

One final thought: I never quite know what to say when I’m listening to an audiobook. Sometimes my roommates will ask me what I’m doing and at first I reply that I’m reading a book. But that’s not actually true. I’m listening to a book, but that sounds really strange, doesn’t it? Well, at least, I think it sounds really strange. So, I cant  quite figure out what to say, so I end up saying too much. Any thoughts on how to properly let people know that you’re listening to a book?

Leave a Reply

