Monday Morning

Let me tell you about a totally brain dead moment I had this morning.

On Mondays I work from 12-6. This is the only day that I work 12-6 in the office. The other days are 1-7. Last night I set my alarm for 9:30, thinking that I would have plenty of time to get ready and make the commute to work. For a little background information, it takes me about an hour to get ready in the mornings and then about another hour to get to work. Okay, it doesn’t actually take an hour, maybe forty minutes, but in my crazy brain, it takes an hour.

So, the alarm went off this morning and I was really tired, so I snoozed it for a solid half hour, thinking that I had plenty of time. Then I drank coffee, roamed around on the internet, and did various other things before finally forcing myself into the shower at 10:30. I took a leisurely shower and it wasn’t until I was in the middle of drying my hair that I happened to glance at the clock. It was 11:06. At first, I thought nothing of it and I actually thought that I was doing really good on time, getting read a full hour in advance. Then it dawned on me that I worked at 12 today and by my normal schedule, I should be out the door already and making my way to work. At the time of this realization, my hair was still 60% wet, I was half-dressed, and I had put on no makeup. Maybe there are women out there who look naturally beautiful, but I am not one of them. Okay, not saying that I look beautiful after I put on makeup, but I definitely do not look good with no makeup. I look like a vampire raccoon, seriously. So, I got my hair to 60% dry, slapped on a bare minimum of makeup, ran to my room and threw on my shirt (luckily I had already decided what to wear, which is rare), grabbed my bag, and ran out the door. By this point it was 11:15 and I knew I had already missed my normal train at 11:20. Fortunately, I made the next train and still made it to work with about 5 minutes to spare.

Now maybe for most people, five minutes early is the time that they always arrive, and hey, that’s cool for you. But I tend to be obsessively early and I feel bad when I’m not. I think that I can accredit my morning stupidity to the Monday blues. I never actually forgot that my shift was 12-6. I just forgot that that meant I would have to leave an hour before twelve, not at twelve. I hate to think what would have happened if I had waited until eleven to start getting ready. That would have been an embarrassing reason to be late to work.

