Mellow yellow at work?

“If it’s yellow, let it mellow. If it’s brown, flush it down.”

I think every American knows this rule of thumb of bathroom etiquette. Whether or not they practice it is another matter. In our apartment, our own little slice of America in Japan, we are firm believers in this rule. There is simply no need to waste that much water just to flush every single time you pee. But for those who do flush every single time, this is not a critique. To each their own I say. But I will say that it is one thing to enforce this policy in your own home with the fellow residents of that home; it is an entirely different matter to follow that rule when visiting someone’s home, at work, or any public bathroom. You should never let it mellow when it is not your own bathroom. And if you know that guests are coming over to your house, that rule should be temporarily suspended and the toilet flushed before your guests arrive. It is simply common courtesy.

Unfortunately for me, I met with an infraction in the practice of common courtesy today at work. I went to the bathroom and the stall I entered had not been flushed, allowing me to see some stranger’s pee in the toilet. Fortunately, I was not too grossed out. I just went to the bathroom and then flushed as one should do. But, why would someone do that? It’s completely gross and a little disturbing I think.

And this is not the first time that I’ve encountered an unflushed public toilet in my life. I am sure that for most of you, you have also come across public bathrooms where the toilet wasn’t flushed by its last user. Well, for guys actually, I have no idea what the rule is for urinals. If someone would please inform me, I would be happy to learn what is and isn’t appropriate. Anyway, why is it that people can’t always seem to flush after they use public restrooms? I mean, you don’t even have to touch the flusher if that’s what you’re worried about all of you non-flushers out there. Just use the bottom of your foot. Just think how you would feel if you came across some stranger’s pee in the toilet you were about to use. Not so cool right? Yeah, that’s what I thought. I really would like to figure out what kind of person does that because I always, always, always flush in public restrooms. It would be completely disgusting not to!

So, if you happen to catch a non-flusher in the act, perform a citizen’s arrest or something because I know that I will be doing the same here in Japan. Although, the results might be a bit more comedic as I try to explain in very bad Japanese why they are in such big trouble. “In toilet…you…small size…didn’t finish…BAD!” Haha! I just laugh thinking about it because that’s exactly how my Japanese would go. Next mission, learn how to say ‘to flush’ in Japanese.

2 thoughts on “Mellow yellow at work?

  1. jen Eureka says:

    sometimes the automatic sensors dont sense me since i hover. then no matter how many times i try to get the sensor to go off, it doesnt flush. so i leave it. its not my fault the automatic toilets suck!

    • fatjenny says:

      I haven’t been able to find the flush button/sensor in the bathrooms in parco. I even asked a couple people, and they couldn’t find it either. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

