Dancing Shoes

Tonight I went salsa dancing! I haven’t had that much fun in a long time. One of my adult students hobbies is salsa dancing, so some other students, staff, and I decided to go to the salsa school where he dances. On Sunday evenings they have a one-hour salsa lesson for beginners followed by salsa club time where you can dance and socialize.In total, there were seven of us, all girls, excluding my salsa dancing as a hobby student, who is a guy. None of us had salsa danced before, so we were all on the same level.

I learned meringue, salsa, and ba cha cha. Sorry about that last one, it was all in Japanese and that is the Japanese pronunciation. Yep, the whole lesson was in Japanese, but it was no problem to understand as long as I did the right moves. I feel quite accomplished in my dancing skills. Okay, not that I was the Fred Astaire of salsa or anything, but at least I didn’t fall down. And I definitely want to learn how to salsa dance for real now!I also learned that shoe selection is very important. The teacher had on these extremely sparkly silver strappy shoes and most of the other girls who were regulars had on similar shoes. So, if I really plan on learning salsa, I should get some strappy heels that will stay on while I am getting my dance on. And if they’re sparkly, all the better.

On a side note, during the dance party, the guys always ask the girls, and I was a little concerned that I would be a wallflower. But, seriously, I have never been so popular in my entire life! I danced almost every dance! I guess Japanese guys who can salsa aren’t hindered by the typical crippling shyness when it comes to talking to girls, especially of the gaijin variety. So, all in all, awesome night!

2 thoughts on “Dancing Shoes

  1. barnes says:

    I miss dancing. Salsa and swing are my favorites. Hope all is well. Sorry for the crappy Skype scheduling. Life has interfered much. Thursday my morning? I really, really want to catch up.

Leave a Reply

