Weekend Sightings

A few funny things that I saw this weekend…

I was waiting outside the subway station when suddenly I heard an ear-splitting alarm from behind me. A boy had tried to go down the up escalator and the alarm was so loud and long that I am sure his cheeks stayed red long after the shrieking alarm ended. And the accompanying, equally as loud  scolding that he got from his mom certainly didnt help matters one bit.

While waiting at an intersection outside of Nagoya station, I glanced around and saw a group of young businessmen, dressed in suits, all probably in their early to mid twenties. It had been raining off and on all day, and all of the guys had umbrellas with them. Nothing unusual about that, until I noticed that the guy furthest to the left in the group was holding his umbrella like a baseball bat. And he was quite serious about, even going so far as to readjust his grip a few times. And just as he was about to launch a full swing, he happened to glance up right at me. One look at the blend of muffled laughter and incredulous disdain on my face caused him to hurriedly drop his umbrella into its corrent position at his side. What kind of person swings an umbrella in the middle of a busy intersection anyway?

At Kasugai station I saw a girl with the side of her skirt completely bunched up and exposing most of her leg unintentionally. It was just shy of every womans nightmare: the back of your skirt tucked into your underwear. If only I knew enough Japanese to have explained her predicament to the poor girl. Luckily, she was wearing colored tights, so it wasnt quite so scandalous.

Leave a Reply

