The Flu Epidemic

Everyone in Japan is getting the flu this month. I think the root of the problem is that the weather keeps changing daily. It goes from freezing and snowing to rainy and windy at the flick of the wrist. And from that, everyone is out getting their flu shots to protect themselves from the weather. But I find that the flu shot has about an equal chance of keeping you from getting sick as it does of getting you sick.

Yesterday, I had an entire kids class canceled because my students were out with the flu. I know several ECC employees who have been out of work because of it. And the way I figure it, it is only a matter of time until I get the flu myself. Good thing I have some paid holiday days left. Oh man, I am not excited at the prospect of getting the flu. But if half my kids have it, there seems a strong probability that I will get something from all the encounters. Just the price you pay when you teach.

Leave a Reply

