Conveyor Belt Sushi

Sunday evening I had made plans to meet Joyce for dinner. So, we decided to get sushi and I suggested that we go to Kappazushi, conveyor belt sushi. Each plate costs 105 yen and you can eat as much as you want. You sit either at a table or at the counter and you choose the different sushi/sashimi that you want off the conveyor belt as it goes by. Sounds a bit strange, but I promise it’s not.

So, we met at Nagoya station, and Joyce thankfully had a map because I only knew that it was somewhere around the station, but I had no clue where it was. So, we set out at 6. After much navigating and chatting, we finally arrived at the restaurant at 6:25. Yeah, it wasn’t as close to the station as I had thought, but it was a nice walk. And it was so busy in there! We added our name to the long waiting list and proceeded to wait at least fifteen minutes for a table.

And let me tell you, if you’re a fan of sushi, you first experience at kappazushi will be a little like Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory when everyone sees the chocolate room for the first time. Of course, there’s not Gene Wilder singing, but that feeling of awe and giddiness fill you just the same. We sat down at our table, looked at the conveyor belt for about thirty seconds before proceeding to grab anything that passed by that we liked or had ever wanted to try.

We ate sushi of all kinds and I got to try lots of different sushi/sashimi that I had always wanted to. Yellowtail and scallop are two new favorites. Uni and squid, on the other hand, are definitely not. What is uni you ask? Well, let me tell you. Joyce translated it as the paste made from sea urchin eggs. Yeah, if the translated version is not enough to turn you off from eating it, the appearance sure would be. It looks like a brown paste that may have been made from the sea urchin’s poop, not its eggs. But, being the adventurous girl that I am, I never say no to trying something at least once. Joyce warned me that it was an acquired taste, but I was willing. And if uni is an acquired taste, it’s not a taste that I want to experience a second time so that I can acquire it.

But after lots of sushi, green tea, talking, and three desserts (Don’t freak out! We each ate one and then shared an interesting looking egg torte.), we decided to head home at around 8:20. We started walking back to the station when we came across Izumoden, a wedding salon. It’s so Japanese can have a western style wedding ceremony. Izumoden is a chain business, and there’s actually one in Kasugai near our apartment. But this one was pretty fancy. There were all kinds of Christian mosaics, but my favorite one by far was of Jesus calming the storms. I have absolutely no idea what that could possibly have to do with getting married, but I took a photo of it anyway. But the wedding hall featured glass chairs as well as a glass piano. It was pretty fancy and a little too cheesy for my American tastes, but to each country their own I say.

Leave a Reply

