The Miracle Bike Lady and Other Things

Well, I made it to the immigration office today and I’m officially in process for a new visa. And although it completely sucked that I had to wait there for an hour (yeah, I got 171 and they were on 150), it all ended well because I managed the whole application process in Japanese. I felt very happy and hopefully that will reflect well on the application.

But before all that, I had to go to the city hall for some paperwork. On my way back to the station, I put on my brave pants and went to the bicycle shop. I managed to explain my problem and the sweet grandma who works there helped me with no problems. And actually, my back tire was fixed in the space of one minute. The front tire took a bit longer because she discovered that the inner tube had a puncture. So after about 15 minutes total of her working and us chatting about America in Japanese my bike was as good as new. And she even did a complete checkup and tweaked a few problem areas. And the best part was that it was so so cheap!! Part of me hopes that my bike will have more problems so that I can go again and talk with her. She was so friendly and helpful!

So, all in all, I had a good day.

Leave a Reply

