The Great Bike Miracle

So, for the past three or four months, my bike has been out of commission. I’ve had two pretty much permanent flat tires. At first it was just the front tire that would go flat more and more frequently. But then, I think the back tire felt lonely, so it started going flat as well. It got so bad that thirty minutes after filling my tires with air they would go flat. Now obviously I know that this is a problem and I know exactly where the bike shop is, but there was this lack of motivation to do it. So I had completely resigned myself to a life of walking and I was doing pretty well with it.

But then on Saturday, I filled my tires to go to the grocery store, and while I was at it, I tightened the screws for the air valves as well. And lo and behold, I checked out my bike this morning, and both tires still had air in them! Miraculously, and quite accidentally, I managed to fix the problem with my tires! Who knew that it was such a simple problem? But that seems to be my M.O. when it comes to transportation. So, I fully enjoyed riding my bike to work today for the first time in ages!

And on a related note, whenever I told people about my flat tire problem, their first question was always, well, did you try putting air in the tire? Well, duh. Tell me something I don’t know. It’s not as though this is the first bike I’ve ever owned, and I did somehow manage to gain a college degree in my life. Of course if I had a flat tire, my first response would be to put air in it. Oh man, I just have to wonder how many times I ask such silly questions and think they’re completely legit. Please tell me when I do because I really want to stop doing it.

Leave a Reply

