Yakiniku

Tonight I ate yakiniku with staff and students from Kurokawa school. It was so much fun! For those of you that don’t know, yakiniku is like a mixture of barbeque and fondue…at least in my mind. At your table is a small grill and you cook your own meats and vegetables on the grill and share everything with your table. It’s really fun and delicious, but it has the downside of campfire-like smoke in your face. But we ordered and then proceeded to eat some crazy, crazy things tonight. No joke. I ate raw liver, cow tongue, stomach/intestines, and arteries. The tongue was actually really good. It was just a thin slice, like salami and you wrapped it in an onion salad mixture. The stomach/intestines were interesting, I couldn’t quite place the taste, but it was good. The artery felt like I was chewing gum. It seriously would not break down. And the liver, well, I could’ve done without it; it was nothing special.

But overall, it was a really fun time! And we also celebrated my and another girl’s birthdays with a cute cake! Then on the walk back to the station the son of one of my students talked to me for ten minutes in Japanese about samurai in the Edo period. At first he was talking so fast, that my coworker told him to slow down because Rachael couldn’t understand. So then he proceeded to repeat everything that he had said, but enunciating very clearly as if that would help me understand samurai vocabulary. But man oh man can that boy talk. He was so cute! And when there was something he really wanted me to understand, he would either ask for a translation or show me with actions what he was trying to say. And although I had no clue as to most of what he was talking about, it was pretty interesting. I just really enjoyed his enthusiasm to talk to me. So cute!

Leave a Reply

