A Few Summer Musts

My first summer in Japan is here, and I can tell you right now, it’s going to be a scorcher! The following are a few things that I cannot live without in order to make it through the summer.

1. My umbrella- Well, actually, one of my many umbrellas actually. I have a slight addiction to them, but anyway…the rainy season is in full swing, so I never know when the sky’s going to open up and pour down rain, so it’s handy to always have one with me. And actually, it comes in handy as a shade giver on those sweltering days when there’s absolutely no wind. Japanese women use their umbrellas as an anti-tanning device; I use it as an anti-sweating device.

2. My fan- I bought this rock star oscillating fan to get me through the hot nights. It occupies a permanent position in front of my sliding door and is perpetually on as long as I’m in the apartment. It even has a sweet remote control, so I can adjust it at a whim. You know you live in Japan when your fan comes with a remote.

3. Popsicles- The popsicles here are awesome. The kind we buy don’t come on sticks, but rather are in a plastic tube that you have to break in half to enjoy. No cutting involved, well, unless I’m a complete moron and can’t break it open. And they come in totally Japanese flavors like melon and yogurt. But don’t worry, they’re delicious.

4. Starbucks Green Tea Frappuccinos- I’m absolutely addicted to these things. They’re a Starbucks staple and a staple in my diet. I probably have one a week. The color alone makes it all worth it. It’s this beautiful green color, which makes it even more appealing to me because I love green. And the whipped cream isn’t sweetened, which I actually like.

Leave a Reply

