Buying into the Trends

Okay, I never thought this would happen to me, but I’m totally becoming a sell-out! Japan has changed me, and I actually like it. But I guess that living in a different country forces you to do, say, and buy things that you never would’ve normally in the states. Here are a few ways that I’ve changed.

1.) I love Starbucks! In the states, I would’ve avoided Starbucks like the plague, and I did in fact. Maybe I had only been there four times in my entire life before moving to Japan. Now I go four times a month. It’s so good here, especially when I can drink things like green tea frappuchinos. I love to sit in Starbucks for hours just reading, people watching, or talking with friends. It’s one of the joys in my life now, and I always treat myself to Starbucks when I’ve had a tough week, or when I’ve done something exceptionally awesome.

2.) I own a pair of Crocs. I know what you’re thinking, but before you jump to conclusions, I didn’t buy a pair of those big clunky ones with holes, although I did actually think about buying that kind. But the style that I went with are very cute, gold Mary Jane style Crocs. But when you live in a country that’s a big combination of walking and being required to remove your shoes every time you enter a home or a classroom, having cute Crocs is a big plus.

3.) I totally have my eye on buying a pair of cute galoshes this month. But in my defense, June is the rainy season here. Let’s put it this way. Japanese consider spring to be March-May and summer to be July-September. June is seriously labeled as the rainy season. So, I feel that it would be in my best interest to buy some galoshes, and since this is Japan, of course they have to be cute ones!

So, there it is. Just a few of the ways that I’m turning into a Japanese sorority girl. Fortunately, they don’t have sororities here. Otherwise, I can’t even imagine what the trends would be.

One thought on “Buying into the Trends

  1. Lindsey says:

    Do you think you’ll continue Starbucks back here in the States? 🙂
    I am a huge fan of the galoshes…please send pics when you buy some!!!

Leave a Reply

