A Follow-Up

Well, apparently, the New Kids on the Block reunion is a hot topic in the blogging world today, and quite a few people took what I said a bit harshly. So, at the recommendation of some, I checked out their new single. It was a good song, don’t get me wrong, but I just think about them back in the day, and it just doesn’t live up to that image in my mind. Now, don’t go thinking that I’m dissing them or that I hate their new sound. And if you think it’s the best thing you’ve ever heard, well then, that’s wonderful for you, and I’m glad you enjoy them. But to me, their reunion feels like a movie sequel. Sequels are always great in theory, but you never quite know if it’ll live up to the hype of the first movie. So, I guess this is just a wait-and-see affair

4 thoughts on “A Follow-Up

  1. ishkabar says:

    U just dont understand. it the feeling behind the music. the music transports its listeners. im tired of you making fun of them. what did they ever do to you? they are such perfect guys and you must be blind and old not to see that. so go back under that rock you came from

  2. Ava says:

    Y’know, I often find myself having to “trick” my friends into liking the New Kids solely because there is this ubiquitous bias that once someone hears that NKOTB sang a particular song, it is automatically dismissed. But when I play the song without saying who it is, they think it rocks! I try my best not to allow folks to prematurely judge the music because there are so many music snobs out there. When their album comes out, I hope you will be open-minded enough to give it a chance. With all the money the are putting into this reunion out of their own pockets, I think they deserve a chance, don’t you think?

    And by the way, Nasri is amazing. You should definitely check him out, as Rivera said. http://www.myspace.com/nasriworld

    If it weren’t for Nasri, there would be no NKOTB reunion! 🙂

  3. Zobiana says:

    My husband played the clip of the single to folks he worked with, not telling them who it was. He told them who it was and they were shocked. When he asked if it hurt to admit it was good, they all said yes.

  4. JW says:

    I’m glad to see you gave it a chance and are willing to admit that it was good! Now, I understand that to some the New Kids will always be those young pop stars from the 89-91 era, but a LOT of us genuine “blockheads” are glad they are making music to suit their styles and ages. I will always love their old stuff, and I still drool over the old pics – that’s the teenager in me coming out, reminiscing. But as a 31 year old woman, I’m excited to hear the new music. They’ve grown up and so have I. This new music reflects that. If they were just another music group to you back in the day, you probably are just not going to understand. But, like the others before me have said, give the music a fair chance. The guys deserve that much.

Leave a Reply

