Mischief and other Childhood Memories

I’d just like to take a moment to say thanks to my parents for raising me and my brother. They really deserve a big round of applause! I was thinking about me and Curtis today, and I realized that we were really really really ornery kids!! I mean, I know that all kinds get into a small bit of trouble, but we were really a terrifying twosome practically from Curtis’s birth. I now realize how exhausting that must’ve been, especially for my mom. Here are a few of the funnier things that I remember doing with Curty:

One time Curtis and I found Selson Blue shampoo in the bathroom. Being the very creative kids that we were, we thought it would be a grand idea to pretend to be Smurfs. Mom found us running around the bathroom covered head to toe in blue shampoo. We didn’t realize that we had done something wrong.

One time Curtis and I decided that it would be a good idea to paint the dog white with the can of white house paint that we had found in the laundry room. Once again, Mom found us and the dog covered in white paint. Again, we couldn’t understand what we had done wrong.

When we were quite young, we discovered that if we wet the bed, Mom would put the mattress in the hallway to dry out during the day. Well, it was the perfect toy for us, being both a slide and a house. Needless to say, bed wetting was sometimes a problem for our parents, but I will say that it was more on Curtis’s part than my own. Sorry baby brother!

I remember the time that Curtis and I discovered that you could climb out my bedroom window onto the garage roof and then take a flying leap off the garage roof onto the trampoline which we had just happened to position perfectly right next to the garage. It took a few giggly runs up to my bedroom before Mom figured out exactly what we were doing. That was almost a trip to the emergency room for her from heart failure. We tried to tell her that it was perfectly safe, and even offered to give her a demonstration, but rooftop jumps were prohibited after that.

Or there was the time when I tried to ride the lawnmower and proceeded to ride it right into a tree in our side yard. But Curtis takes the cake on this one. He managed to ride the lawnmower into the corner of the garage, around which was no grass, only gravel driveway, which you were supposed to ride the lawnmower on anyway.

And I won’t even mention all the near-death experiences that we both had, resulting in at least three trips to the doctors and two to the emergency room. I have so many scars, it’s not even funny.

But we did have our good moments. We were always very well-behaved in public. I definitely can’t say the same for home time, but I think the real problem was that we just looked so cute that it was tough for Mom or Dad to stay mad at us for too long. I only hope one day if i have kids, that they’ll be just as mischievous as we were!

2 thoughts on “Mischief and other Childhood Memories

  1. Lindsey says:

    Even though I have heard all these stories before, they still make me chuckle thinking about your poor mom! But, you are right, you were so cute (i’ve seen pics!) how could she be mad? 🙂

Leave a Reply

