The Color Game

One of my all-time favorite warm up games to play in my FTLs is the color game. Students take turns naming colors. I know that it might sound really lame and easy, but if you play this game with higher level students, it’s absolutely awesome! Because after two rounds, depending on the number of students, you run out of the basic colors like red, yellow, and green, and you have to think creatively. My only rule is that you can’t repeat a color that’s already been said.

I hate to be negative, but Japanese don’t really know how to think outside of the box, so this game can be a little tough at first. But once they open up, they have a lot of fun. My favorite color to date is “ecstasy red.” That one was volunteered by one of my favorite Explorer students at Obata.

Leave a Reply

