The Comforts of Childhood

I know that as you age, your palette develops as well, and the simple foods that you ate obsessively as a child slowly fade from your diet. But something about Japan has just reinstated my childhood taste in foods. Everyday I have toast for breakfast, some sort of soup and sandwich for lunch, and pasta for dinner. Part of it may be because I’m too tired to cook anything that requires any real effort, but part of me really craves grilled cheese, ramen, egg salad sandwiches, and spaghettios. I can get three out of four here, so I’m satisfied.

Maybe it’s the fact that those foods remind me of home, and I know that I can’t screw them up when I attempt to make meals in the microwave oven!

Leave a Reply

