Old School Communication

I love letters. There’s something really appealing to me about opening your mailbox and having a piece of mail waiting there for you to open, especially a letter. It makes any day bright, and it puts a smile on my face for the rest of the day. I don’t know what it is, but I have always loved writing and receiving letters. And my favorite movie of all time, You’ve Got Mail, is based on that concept. Granted, they exchange emails, but they’re very much like letters, and in the original movie, The Shop Around the Corner, they exchange letters.

I think for me, a letter conveys so much more than just what you write. It really lets someone know that you care enough about them to take the time to handwrite something just for them, and you’re willing to pay the postage that gets more and more expensive everyday (especially now for me since I live in another country). I mean, does anyone ever get a letter and think, “Crap. I really didn’t want this. Why do people keep writing to me?” Okay, maybe once they read what’s in it, but that doesn’t count. But actually, now that we have telephone and email, people shouldn’t really be putting negative news in a letter. That’s just a bad idea altogether. Well, as we all can see, I could really get on a soapbox about the pros of writing letters, but I’ll cut myself off before I really get going.

But in closing, two things. First, don’t let this be any kind of a guilt trip that makes you feel obligated to write me a letter. I understand that some people are simply not letter writers, and I’m okay with that. Second, if letter writing could be a love language, it would be one of mine for sure. So maybe you’ll be getting a letter from Japan in your mailbox sometime! And if you really want some Japanese mail, just send me your address, and I’ll be very glad to send you a letter!

Leave a Reply

