Demos until I DIE!!

I’m currently in the deepest depths of kid’s training. There is a light at the end of the tunnel, but it’s very faint. I think Friday will never come!! Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoy kid’s training, mostly because I’m excited about actually teaching kid’s classes…but all of these demos are going to be the death of me for real. Everyday I have to prep two demos, present them, and then act like a little kid aged anywhere between 1.5-12 for four other demos.

Let me pause and explain what a demo is. Basically, it’s a demonstration of how you would actually teach a lesson if you were in the classroom. It doesn’t sound that bad, but these lessons are anywhere from 30-60 mins. with most on the 60 minute side of things. And maybe if you were actually in the classroom, this wouldn’t be too bad, but you’re having to pretend that your fellow trainees are little kids, and you’re being judged on your performance the whole time.

And the best part of it all is that even though you’ve prepared a 60 minute lesson, you only have 30 minutes to do all of it. So, you’re only doing parts of the whole lesson, and if you’re not used to teaching these classes at all, it’s hard to just cut chunks out of it. So, today I had to do two demos, tomorrow I have to do two demos, and the next two days, I’ll have to do at least one demo each day.

So, I’m off to prep my next two demos which entails reading over the whole lesson plan about four times, figuring out the weird/vague explanations, and figuring out how to do all of the games and activities without speaking or only using really really simple English. Then I’m going to bed early because just writing about it makes me tired!!

Oh, also, here’s a picture of what a typical kid’s classroom looks like. With me is Vori, one of my fellow trainees!

Kid’s Classroom

Leave a Reply

